Which Chimney Inspection Does Your Chimney Need This Year?

Level 1 | Level 2 | Level 3

Chimneys that are regularly used should be cleaned and inspected every year. But even those chimneys that are not used often need to be inspected annually to make sure they are functioning properly and safely and are free of damage. 

Our team specializes in level 1, 2, and 3 chimney inspections (using the latest methods and documentation), and can provide you with all the information you need regarding your chimney’s safety and condition. 

Level 1

Level I inspections are typically considered sufficient for chimneys that have been well-maintained, inspected annually, and that haven’t undergone any changes in fuel type, appliance, performance, or use. These inspections involve the evaluation of the chimney chase, the crown and cap, the flashing, the firebox, and a visual inspection of the flue.

Level 2

Level II inspections are required when the home is changing hands, after a chimney fire, when the flue is being relined, or when the fuel or appliance is being changed. Level II inspections include everything in a level I inspection, as well as the evaluation of all accessible portions of the chimney (including crawl spaces and attics) and the evaluation of the flue using video scanning technology. This allows us to get a better look at the chimney flue, from top to bottom. 

Level 3

Level III inspections are more complex and are really only considered when a level I or level II isn’t sufficient. These can include the removal of parts of the chimney or home, which is why we only recommend a level III inspection if there’s no other way to get to the heart of the chimney issue.